Find a Team

Alberta offers 3 types of cheerleading programs: School, All Star and Pom & Dance, all of which are further broken down into levels and divisions based on age and skill level. Take a look at our Judging section for a more detailed breakdown of the divisions.

School Cheerleading

School cheerleaders are athletes who are on a team based out of their school (elementary through post-secondary).  Competitive routines are 2.5 minutes long and include acrobatic stunting, tumbling and dancing.  In Alberta there are Zone and Provincial Championships at both the Junior High and High School level and cheerleading is recognized as an official sport by the Alberta Schools Athletic Association (ASAA). In addition to training for competitions, school cheer teams may also cheer for school teams such as basketball, football etc., or participate in school or community events. 

All Star Cheerleading

All Star cheerleaders do not cheer for specific schools or sports teams, though some do participate, volunteer and perform in community events.  Athletes work towards perfecting a 2.5 minute routine which includes acrobatic stunting, tumbling and dancing.  All Star teams are typically based out of a private cheer gym or gymnastics facility and may offer teams from 3 years old through to adults with recreational and/or competitive programs.  All Star gyms often provide additional opportunities to train and build skills with camps and clinics in various skill areas.  Scroll down for a listing of All-Star cheerleading clubs in Alberta.

Pom & Dance

Offered in both schools and at All Star gyms, Pom & Dance is a dance-only category that does not include stunting elements (some lifts are now permitted - please see the rules and guidelines for further information).  Pom & Dance teams may incorporate a number of dance styles within their routines including, but not limited to: Jazz, Hip-Hop or Cheer dance motions.  Athletes build technical dance skills in the areas of kicks, jumps and turns, and routines usually involve a number of eye-catching transitions, levels and formation changes.  Some teams may also choose to incorporate the use of props (as approved).  Pom-Poms may also add some flash and flair and can be used to enhance routines and dance styles.


Teams in Alberta

Below is a list of our Member Teams/Clubs for the 2015-2016 Cheerleading Season.  All of the following Clubs/Teams are in good standing with the Alberta Cheerleading Association and abide by those regulations set down by the ACA and Cheer Canada.  All School teams have an ACA certified coach, all Club teams have coaches certified by the IASF.

Elementary Teams in Alberta: 

Bessie Nichols School - Edmonton - http://bessienichols.epsb.ca/

Ecole Dickinsfield Elementary School - Edmonton - http://dickinsfield.epsb.ca/home/

Dr. Morris Gibson School - Okotoks - http://drgibson.fsd38.ab.ca/

Elizabeth Finch School - Edmonton - http://elizabethfinch.epsb.ca/home/

GH Primeau Catholic Elementary School - Morinville - http://www.ghp.gsacrd.ab.ca/

Johnny Bright School - Edmonton - http://johnnybright.epsb.ca/

Landing Trail School - Athabasca - http://www.landingtrailschool.ca/

Millwoods Christian School - Edmonton - http://millwoodschristian.epsb.ca/home/

Sister Annata Brockman Catholic School - Edmonton - http://www.sisterannatabrockman.ecsd.net/

Sunchild School - Rocky Mountain House - http://www.sunchildschool.com/

Victoria School of the Arts - Edmonton - http://victoria-school.ca/

Whispering Hills Primary School - Athabasca - http://whps.aspenview.org/


Junior High Teams in Alberta:

Bessie Nichols School - Edmonton - http://bessienichols.epsb.ca/

Clover Bar School - Sherwood Park - http://cloverbar.ca/

Ecole Coloniale Estates School - Beaumont - http://eces.blackgold.ca/

D.S. Mackenzie Junior High School - Edmonton - http://dsmackenzie.epsb.ca/home/

Edwin Parr Composite High School - Athabasca - http://epc.aspenview.org/

Elmer S Gish Junior High School - St. Albert - http://esgjh.spschools.org/

Esther Starkman School - Edmonton - http://esgjh.spschools.org/

G.S. Lakie Middle School - Lethbridge - http://gsl.lethsd.ab.ca/

Grimshaw Jr./Sr. High School - Grimshaw - http://www.grimshawhigh.ca/

H. E. Beriault Catholic Junior High School - Edmonton - https://www.ecsd.net/schools/8004/Pages/default.aspx

Hardisty School - Edmonton - http://hardisty.epsb.ca/

Holy Trinity Catholic School - Fort McMurray - http://www.holytrinity.ecsd.net/

John D. Bracco Junior High School - Edmonton - http://johndbracco.epsb.ca/home/

Johnny Bright School - Edmonton - http://johnnybright.epsb.ca/

Ecole Kenilworth Junior High School - Edmonton - http://kenilworth.epsb.ca/home/

Michael Strembitsky Junior High School - Edmonton - http://michaelstrembitsky.epsb.ca/

Millwoods Christian School - Edmonton - http://millwoodschristian.epsb.ca/home/

Ecole Okotoks Junior High School - Okotoks - http://okotoksjr.fsd38.ab.ca/

Ottewell Junior High School - Edmonton - http://ottewell.epsb.ca/home/

Raymond Junior High School - Raymond - http://www.raymondjunior.ca/

Richard Fowler Catholic Junior High School - St. Albert - http://www.rsf.gsacrd.ab.ca/

Riverview Middle School - Devon - http://rms.blackgold.ca/

S. Bruce Smith Junior High School - Edmonton - http://sbs.epsb.ca/

St. Elizabeth Seton School - Edmonton - http://www.stelizabethseton.ecsd.net/

St. Mary's School - Medicine Hat - http://www.stmarymh.ca/

Ecole Senator Riley Middle School - High River - http://www.fsd38.ab.ca/our-schools/high-river-area/ecole-senator-riley-middle-school/

Sister Annata Brockman Catholic School - Edmonton - http://www.sisterannatabrockman.ecsd.net/

Sir George Simpson Junior High - St. Albert - http://sgsjh.spschools.org/

Spruce Avenue School - Edmonton - spruceavenue.epsb.ca/home/

Victoria School of the Arts - Edmonton - http://victoria-school.ca/

W. D. Cuts Junior High School - St. Albert - http://wdcuts.spschools.org/NEW/

Westlawn Junior High School - Edmonton - http://westlawn.epsb.ca/home/


High School Teams in Alberta:

Austin O'Brien High School -  Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://www.austinobrien.ecsd.net

Beaumont Catholic High School -  Beaumont - Metro Edmonton - http://esbchs.blackgold.ca

Bellerose Composite High School - St. Albert - Metro Edmonton - http://bchs.spschools.org/

Bev Facey Community High School - Sherwood Park - Metro Edmonton - http://bevfacey.ca/

Blessed Oscar Romero Catholic High School - Metro Edmonton - https://www.ecsd.net/schools/1028/Pages/default.aspx

Cold Lake High School - Cold Lake - North East - http://coldlakehighschool.ca/

Eastglen Composite High School - Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://eastglen.epsb.ca/

Edwin Parr Composite High School - Athabasca - North Central - http://epc.aspenview.org/

Foothills Composite High School - Okotoks - South Central - http://fchs.fsd38.ab.ca/

Frank Maddock High School - Drayton Valley - North Central - http://fmhigh.wrsd.ca/

Holy Trinity Catholic School - Fort McMurray - North East - http://holytrinity.fmcschools.ca/

J Percy Page High School - Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://jpercypage.epsb.ca/

Jasper Place High School - Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://jasperplace.epsb.ca/

Lillian Osborne High School - Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://www.osborneschool.ca/

McNally High School - Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://mcnally.epsb.ca/

Morinville Community High School - Morinville - North Central - http://www.mchs.gsacrd.ab.ca/

ecole Paul Kane High School - St. Albert - Metro Edmonton - http://www.pkhs.spschools.org/

Rundle Academy - Calgary - http://www.rundle.ab.ca/schools/academy

St. Francis Xavier Catholic High School - Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://www.stfrancisxavier.ecsd.net/

Salisbury Composite High School - Sherwood Park - Metro Edmonton - http://salcomp.ca/

Victoria School of the Arts - Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://victoria-school.ca/

W.P. Wagner High School - Edmonton - Metro Edmonton - http://wpwagner.epsb.ca/


University Cheer teams in alberta:

University of Alberta - Edmonton - mikie@cheerific.ca

University of Lethbridge - Lethbridge - alyshalyon@hotmail.com


All star clubs in alberta:

Adrenaline Athletics - Grande Prairie - adrenalineathleticsgp@gmail.com

Alberta Cheer Empire -  Edmonton - info@abcheerempire.com

Brooks Dynamite Cheer Inc - Brooks - brooks.dynamitecheer@gmail.com

Calgary STARS - Calgary  - info@calgarystarsgym.com

Cosmic Allstars - Grande Cache - roxsolidfitness@hotmail.com

Deep Blue Athletics - Spruce Grove - info@deepblueathletics.com

Dynasty Cheer All Stars - Calgary - dynastycheerinfo@gmail.com

Extreme Cheer Sensation - Lethbridge - extremecheersensation@gmail.com

Gymniks All Stars - Grande Prairie - cheer@gpgymniks.com

Matrix Cheer All-Stars - Strathmore - jumphousegymnastics@hotmail.com

Outlaws Cheer Posse - Thorsby/Leduc - outlawcheerleading@gmail.com

Perfect Storm Athletics - Calgary, Edmonton, Lethbridge, Sherwood Park - info@perfectstormathletics.com

Premier Academy - Red Deer, Calgary - info@premiercheer.org

Sabres Cheer Spirit - Mayerthorpe - info@sabrescheer.com

South East Alberta Cheerleading - Medicine Hat - southeastalbertacheerleading@gmail.com

Trappers All Star - Fort McMurray - jenn_list89@hotmail.com

University of Calgary - Calgary - cheer@ucalgary.ca

Ultimate Cheer Fusion - Medicine Hat - ultimatecheerfusion@gmail.com